Kookaburra

As we continued our early morning stroll through Hyde Park in Sydney, my finger was getting quite the workout as I snapped pictures, full of excitement on our first full day in Australia. There was so much to see. After months of anticipation we had arrived in the land down under. Thoughts of Kangaroo’s, Croc’s, Koala’s  and other species native to this part of the world filled my imagination. Where were they? When would I see some? I thought they would be everywhere…. Over the next few weeks we would get to see our fill of these creatures and even interact with some.

As we strolled along snapping and clicking, we came upon a number of little birds I had never seen before but only heard of in children’s songs.  I am sure you have heard the tale as well.  If not hear it is:

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree

Merry, merry king of the bush is he

Laugh, Kookaburra! Laugh, Kookaburra!

What a life you lead.

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree

Merry, merry, merry little bird is he

Sing, Kookaburra! Sing, Kookaburra!

Sing your song for me.

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree

Eating all the gum drops he can see

Stop, Kookaburra! Stop, Kookaburra!

Leave some there for me

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree

Counting all the monkeys he can see

Stop, Kookaburra! Stop, Kookaburra!

That’s not a monkey that is me.

You know you just sang or hummed that song as you were reading it, didn’t ya!

and now here is my little friend…. the Kookaburra!

DSC_0114-1

 

6 thoughts on “Kookaburra

  1. So, that’s what they look like. He’s so cute :). I haven’t thought of that song in years, but I remember singing it all the time as a child. It’s one of those catchy little songs that will probably be in my head all night now LOL!!

  2. So those are the words to that song lol Hope you weren’t to shocked to find we don’t all have kangaroos in our yards…actually it’s probably true if you head out of the city/suburbs.

Leave a Reply

