It’s Time….

In March of 2012 we embarked on a quest to start planning a trip. We love to travel, I mean who doesn’t really. Friends of ours “come from the land down under”, you know that place “where women glow and the men plunder’ (thank you Men at Work). We met these two folks about 5 years ago while we were cruising in the Western Caribbean. Since then we have travelled together to Alaska, the Caribbean, South America and Panama. Our now very good friends have wanted us to come on down to Australia, “where beer does flow and men chunder’ (thank you again Men at Work), so we decided that we would make that happen. After some intense investigation we decided the best way for us to get a good snap shot of the great Island of Australia (yes I know it’s actually a continent) would be to take a cruise. Of course, going all the way “Down Under” is a very long flight for us from Canada, plus you lose a day on the way and gain on the way back. So with the flight times in mind, we decided perhaps the best way to do this would be to Cruise back to the Northern Hemisphere.

After 1 year of planning and waiting and waiting and waiting… did I mention this was a long wait? Today, we leave for Toronto to get ready for our flight. I have to admit with the long winter we have had, I am so looking forward to leaving the winter coat behind and in fact, I may just where my shorts to the Airport! Whenever you travel a concern of course is always the time changes. Sydney is 16 hrs ahead of where we live in Ontario. I hate to lose a second of vacation time sleeping. Jet lag will not bring me down! Our method for dealing with this was simple. We will be flying from Toronto to Honolulu, Hawaii. Honolulu is 6 hours behind us. We plan to stay there for a day and a bit and then fly to Sydney. Sydney is 21 hours ahead of Honolulu so with my vacation math that really only means we lose about 3 hours… the result  me 1, jet lag 0! Winner!

So for the next 36 days I might be AWOL from posting folks. Our itinerary flows in the following way: Toronto to Honolulu (stay in Waikiki), then off to Sydney (explore the city a bit) then board the Celebrity Solstice for a 12 day venture down the Gold Coast of Australia with stops in Cairns, Port Douglas, Willis Island, Airlie Beach Brisbane and back to Sydney for some more exploration. The highlight I am looking forward to is the Great Barrier Reef and don’t worry I will have my underwater camera with me.

Following the conclusion of this trek in Australia, we will then stay on the Celebrity Solstice and embark on a South Pacific cruise that will take us to Nouméa, New Caledonia, Papeete, Tahiti, Moorea, Tahiti, Bora Bora, Tahiti and then across the ocean to Maui and Honolulu, Hawaii. Once we disembark in Honolulu we will be staying for an extra 4 days to get rid of our sea legs!

So as you can see, I will be very busy over the next month and a bit. I am not sure what type of internet access I will have while on the ship. In fact, usually they charge ridiculous prices for internet on a cruise ship and well I would prefer to spend the money on a margarita or two or three or …well you get the point. I will however, occasionally upload some pictures using the WordPress app from my phone and of course you can always sign up to follow me on twitter (@Stephen_Saysell or just click on the twitter button on my home page). I will be using twitter as much as possible. When I do return, I will fill the pages of “this, that and whatever else I can think of” with lots of details and pictures of our adventures! It been a long time coming but it’s finally here!

So on that note, I hope you follow along on my journey and I will see you all in 36 days for sure if not before!

P1000179-2-1 P1010738-2 P1030336-3 P1040917-4

10 thoughts on “It’s Time….

  1. The countdown clock has just hit 0! You lucky so and so! I am NOT jealous or anything, you understand? I hope you have the most wonderful time and I really look forward to reading your blogs and seeing amazing pictures, as we have been accustomed to! I am so glad you’re going to Cairns and Port Douglas to explore the Great Barrier Reef. It still remains one of the highlights of my whole life. I’m sure your pics will be better than the ones I took with my disposable camera. And don’t forget to say hello to George, the Giant Clam! We went with Haba and they looked after us extremely well. Australians really are very friendly folk.
    Wish I were coming with you! Enjoy!

  2. Have an amazing time. I can’t wait to see pictures and hear all about it!!! Any of those locations could be considered a “once in a lifetime dream trip” and you’re going to all of them! 🙂 Lucky!!! Enjoy a margarita or two for me, please!

  3. Bon voyage. Remember to take a sweater as Australia is moving towards Autumn – though it is not as cold as the Fall temperatures you are used to experiencing.

Leave a Reply

