Streets of San Juan

Looks to be another dull, cold and dreary day in my neck of the woods. The wonderous beginnings of winter. I am working from home today, I have some meetings later in the day so I will head out later this afternoon and drive a few hours to Owen Sound where my meeting is at.  Hopefully, the drive will be decent. I did see some snow, ever so lightly falling not to long ago as I looked through the patio doors of our kitchen.  Have I ever mentioned how much I hate winter? Vanda is always telling me I need to embrace it because we are stuck with it. That being said, I would love to embrace it, just somewhere warm that’s all.

I have been trying to get my new website up and running but I am so ‘geekless’ when it comes to this stuff. I have set up the new domain name but I just can’t seem to figure out how to get the domain name to point to my host. I am hosting the site on “Pixpa”. It really does have an easy interface to design and set things up but it gets a little more technical when it comes time to “go live”.  The other problem is that you can never actually get help from a “live” person. They always send you to these silly forums where all the answers are supposed to be. Well, there not! Somehow, I just know that this will end up costing me a few more bucks to get it going, that’s usually the answer to everything. I will let you all know once I finally figure it out. I would be curious on any feedback because I obviously want the site to be attractive and practical.

Yesterday, I took you all to San Juan with me for a shot of a tree that was filled with some bright yellow blooms. For today`s shot lets stay in San Juan. Mainly because its warm there! I love Old San Juan with its cobble stoned streets, narrow alley ways and beautiful views of the Caribbean. I also love it`s history. It seems to me that every time you turn a corner you get a feel from the Spanish Colonial period. The bright colours of the walls and buildings abound in this place. I have been to San Juan on three occasions and will no doubt return again someday. With winter upon us, it just may be sooner than you think.

I hope you enjoy this shot of a simple narrow street in San Juan. When I took this, I took my meter reading from the sky (which I most often do) as I figured such an exposure would brighten the shadows and help to bring out the essence of the colours on the wall. Of course the crime of doing that was the slightly overexposed whites on the building near the top. Oh well the sky looked good!

Have a great day everyone.

7 thoughts on “Streets of San Juan

  1. I still think it’s a beautiful shot, Sayvan. I like how you used to the path to lead the eyes. Perfect composition 🙂

    Maybe when you go back try bracketed shots so you can get rid of the over-exposed whites on the building 😉

  2. Suffering along with you! I’m thinking of self hosting but am similarly a spud when it comes to the technology involved. I keep just putting it off! No help, am I? Sorry!

Leave a Reply

