Weekly Photo Challenge – Today

My entry into this weeks theme is slightly different then I have done in the past. I am sharing more than one shot. I bought a new barbecue on Friday. Have you ever put one of these things together? It’s a 4 – 5 hour job. As you can no doubt imagine, that is how I spent my Sunday. Of course once the BBQ is complete one has to have the inaugural grilling session. I decided I would do a “Beer Can Chicken”. Have you ever tried this? It’s incredibly easy to make.

First off, get yourself a chicken! Then pull together some spices (your choice really), mix them together and then take your dry rub and rub it all over the skin of the chicken. I also like to place some lemon inside the cavity of the bird along with some other pre-made sauces. Once you have your chicken ready, its time for the fun part. Open a can of beer. Drink half, then shove the beer can up into the cavity of the bird (that’s right – you know where to put it).  Place the bird standing up-right into a pan (to catch the drippings) and then head for the BBQ.  Heat up the BBQ on high. Once its ready, turn down the burner where you place the bird to low. The remaining burners should be around medium. The bird cooks using indirect heat.  Turn the bird a quarter of the way every 15-20 minutes. All in all, it takes about 1.5-2 hrs to cook. So … this is what I did today and here are the shots to prove it!

8 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Today

Leave a Reply

