Poetry Thursday – Sunset Thinking

I am going to try to do something a little different on Thursday’s for the next little while. I am going to choose one of my photo’s to share and then I am going to look for some poetry that I think relates in some way to the photo I have chosen. I hope you like the idea. Just trying something a little different on my ever evolving blog.

I spent the last week in Florida and of course who can resist the wonderful beauty of a sunset. I snapped this shot from the balcony of my condo.

The poem I have picked for this one is written by Marilyn Lott. What I have discovered is that she is a published poet who writes about her travels. I hope you enjoy this as well:

Do you ever watch the sunset

And just sit and think about things

Just you and the sky and darkness

Giving your thoughts some wings

Perhaps you’ve got some troubles

And don’t know what to do

Or you just plain need to get away

To spend a little time with you

Sunset beauty makes you feel as though

Your life has meaning after all

To see a sight so extraordinary

Makes you feel capable, strong and tall

It’s funny how flashes of color

Like a sunset or sunrise can inspire

It can calm your inner self a bit

It’s a scene you can never tire

The serenity gives you a chance

To put things in perspective

Life can be overwhelming at times

And a sunrise can be reflective

So when the sky lights up next time

Let your gaze do some drinking

Soak up all the amazing sights

And do some sunset thinking!

Marilyn Lott
One thought on “Poetry Thursday – Sunset Thinking

Leave a Reply

