Portraits of my Valentine

Well the day has arrived, February 14. Valentines Day! Today many people will exchange gifts of candy, flowers, jewellery and all in the name of Saint Valentine. Oh the mystery that surrounds this saint. Just who was he anyway? One legend contends that Valentine was a priest who served during the third century in Rome. When Emperor Claudius II decided that single men made better soldiers than those with wives and families, he outlawed marriage for young men. Valentine, realizing the injustice of the decree, defied Claudius and continued to perform marriages for young lovers in secret. When Valentine’s actions were discovered, Claudius ordered that he be put to death. Still another legend suggest that Valentine may have been killed for attempting to help Christians escape harsh Roman prisons, where they were often beaten and tortured. According to one legend, an imprisoned Valentine actually sent the first “valentine” greeting himself after he fell in love with a young girl–possibly his jailor’s daughter–who visited him during his confinement. Before his death, it is alleged that he wrote her a letter signed “From your Valentine,” an expression that is still in use today. Although the truth behind the Valentine legends is murky, the stories all emphasize his appeal as a sympathetic, heroic and–most importantly–romantic figure (source: www.history.com) However,  today I am not about to rant on with a history lesson.  Today, I would like to share with you a bit about the true love of my life, my wife and my Valentine Vanda.

In some ways today is a bit of a different Valentines Day for me (and I suppose her). It’s different because for the very first time since we have been together we are actually apart on Valentines Day.  Vanda is  cruising the Caribbean with her mom and her sister.  No worries however I BBM’d her as soon as I woke up this morning to wish her a Happy Valentine, tell her (as I do every morning when I wake up) that I love her and wish her a glorious day. She is in Belize today. Nonetheless, we may be apart but my thoughts are all about her, she will read this when she gets a chance as well, probably kill me (joking) for blogging about her but it is worth the lumps I may have to take. I ordered her some flowers, a bottle of Champagne and a Valentine cake which hopefully was delivered to her room today but alas I havent yet heard.

So just who is this woman I am talking about today. As I have said before she is the love of my life. We originally met way back in University. She was just as beautiful than as she is today, more so today I think. However, things were not meant to be back then. We lived hours apart and well I was not ready to make the move and enjoyed the nights out with the boys etc. We both ended up married to different people, lost touch and well,  went about our separate lives. However, she never really left my mind or my heart.

After only a few years my marriage had broken up, I took another job and was to speak at a convention. When I walked on to the convention floor, my eyes were drawn to the far side of the room. Sitting at a table was the most beautiful woman I had ever set eyes on, she had long golden blonde hair and I could see from a distance these stunning blue eyes. She reminded of someone, but years had passed and I just couldn’t place her. I gave my presentation, rather boring dialogue about workers compensation and the law and then proceeded to leave the conference. That’s when it all came back to me, that woman who had caught my eye as soon as I walked into the room, was none other than Vanda. With great anticipation, I managed to see her again in the hotel lobby and we connected as if we had never been apart. Her situation had also changed. She was in the process of ending a marriage that just didn’t work and well now you know the rest of the story. We have been together ever since, we have a wonderful blended family and we have never looked back. This woman truly is my soul mate. Fate may have taken us apart in our reckless youth (well mine anyway), but it had brought us back together for good. I have never been happier or more satisfied in all my life.

My wife and I have a bit of a tradition that we have celebrated at Valentine Day each year since we have been together. We actually celebrate a bit of a Valentine season if you will. How this works is simple. I am a big believer that Valentines is really a celebration for the women. For me, I could really care less about the gifts etc and god knows I certainly don’t need the cakes and chocolates. Although the party line is that we celebrate (and you should) our love each day, Vanda and I also celebrate what we call the 14 days of Valentine. Just how does this work, you ask? It’s simple, starting on February 1st of each year, I will give 1 gift a day to Vanda right through to February 14th. The gift doesn’t have to be anything big, it can be whatever I am feeling on that day. For the record, lingerie is not involved in any way! Vanda will receive maybe some chocolates (she especially enjoys the heart shaped marshmellow chocolates), perhaps a book as she loves to read, it could be some body lotion or clothing (that’s right I have great fashion sense, I even picked my step-daughters prom dress for her!). You get the idea, just a little something each day to tell her that I am always thinking of her and that she is everything a partner could ever be to me. This year we had to start the celebration in January as she left for her cruise on Feb 10. The kids and I will be joining her for the second leg of that cruise next week.

So that’s a bit about my Valentine and how I feel about her. Of course, loving photography, I have a ton of pictures of her, some I can share and well some I can’t (wink wink). So with that I am going to dedicate today’s post to my lovely wife and everyday of the year to my Valentine.  I hope you enjoy the photos I have chosen.  Don’t ya just love those blue eyes?

I also want to leave you with a beautiful song by Jack Johnson. Its called “Angel” and this is also for my Valentine today… I love you precious girl!

Happy Valentine everyone!

4 thoughts on “Portraits of my Valentine

Leave a Reply

