Kona and the Big Island

I would like to take a moment and say thank you to all of those who have chosen to follow my blog. It’s interesting to see that these folks have an interest in my little corner of the world. Thus, today, I reached a milestone, kinda, sorta, not that I really set any goals for this.  As of this very moment, as I sit down to write some more about my adventures in Hawaii, the views on my site have increased 100% and yes I find that exciting! Thank you, thank you, thank you. Now if we could only get my bank account to increase at the same rate. Now let’s get back to why you really came here…… oh by the way.. I have changed the look and style of the blog… not sure it works for me yet but let me know if your good with it because after all,  your why I set this up in the first place.

Yesterday, I wrote a bit about my time on Maui. I didn’t cover it all, but thought a little tease would be the perfect thing to leave you wanting more. That little tease for today,  will be from the Big Island, yep that’s what it’s called… the Big Island or of course, the Island of Hawaii. It’s the largest of all the other Hawaiian islands. The island itself is formed from five shield volcanoes, three which remain active today. As a result of the active volcanoes, the Big Island continues to grow today.  Our visit for today will be to the town of Kailua-Kona which is a tourist hub with a small-town feeling. Kona is also the home to the famous World Ironman Championship.

My time in Kona was well spent. It all started with a trip to a Coffee Plantation, yep you guessed it, Kona Coffee. Here we spent time walking the grounds, viewing the vegetation, the coffee trees and of course sampling some fresh coffee, the beans taken right from the field.   We then proceeded on a little historic venture as we made our way to Puuhonua O Honaunau National Historic Park – an ancient Hawaiian village of refuge for kapu (law) breakers. Here,  we would find a beautiful scenic view overlooking Kealakekua Bay.

After roaming the grounds of this Historic park, we then made our way to the “Painted Church” – the tiny church Belgian priests painted to be a grand cathedral. The paintings on the interior of the church were meant to communicate with the people of Hawaii and bridge the language barrier.  The town of Kona itself, is a quaint little place. The main street, Ali’i Drive, runs along the oceanfront, through the heart of the city, from Kailua Pier to the Kuamo’o Battlefield.  Here are a few of my memories from this wonderful place and once again, thanks for stopping by.

3 thoughts on “Kona and the Big Island

    1. Kauai is probably ranking near the top for me. Just beautiful with so many things to do and see. Although many say its commercialized, I loved Honolulu as well. You have a bit of it all. Big city surrounded by beautiful beaches and within a few miles outside of the city back into paradise.

Leave a Reply

