A walk through the Hundred Acre Wood

Well it has been a few days since I posted anything to my blog and I must apologize to those of you who are my faithful followers. It is truly interesting to view my site stats and see how the activity just disappears when you go AWOL  for a few days.  I guess the famous saying from the movie “Field of Dreams” holds true for ones blog as well. You know, “Build it and they will come”.  Certainly the traffic to my little corner of the internet fell off dramatically when the construction halted. I really hate when my work life gets in the way of this blogging thingy!

Thank god for Saturdays and a day away from the hustle and bustle of working for the man, just to pay the man, so I can buy more from the man. Ahh… the circle of life!

So after a week of bargaining and negotiation, I decided today I would get up with the sunrise and head out on a photo walk. I live on a cul- de- sac. Our home backs on to a forest area that we like to refer to as the ‘Hundred Acre Wood’. The woodland lines the upper Avon river which flows throughout most of Stratford, Ontario.  I left just around 8 am and about 185 pictures later returned just after noon. The weather was fantastic with some clouds, blue sky and a nice crisp -8 celsius. A fine winter’s day.

My aim today was to use my senses, some intellect and my emotion to help me ‘see’. My hope was to find some creativity, texture , shapes and colors as I made my way through the woods and into town.  Always trying to improve my photography, I wanted to also use this opportunity to use my ‘visual’ thinking and become better acquainted with the visual design in the nature I was seeing and then taking that and trying to capture something that was appealing and of course interesting.  In a way this was an assignment for me and not just a hike in the woods with a camera. Did I succeed  in this task? I am not sure, I certainly have tried to attentive to my composition and I did try to experiment with some different depth of field shots. One thing  I am trying to be more careful with is taking the time to see whats around me as I walk with my camera. Looking at objects, which at first glance seem to be unpromising and thinking of ways to turn those things into a fine image is the goal.  I am not sure that I accomplished this with every shot I took today, but of the ones I share with you let me know what you think. Did I reach my goal of capturing something that is interesting?

Thanks for coming along on my little walk today and enjoy the slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “A walk through the Hundred Acre Wood

  1. I know you don’t get a lot of contrast in winter shots, but what you get instead is that cool pristine untouched look of fresh snow and frozen streams. Nice shots! How’d you do the slide show? I like the berries shot and the stream shot the best.

    1. Thanks Ed, When I uploaded the photos there is a slide show button you can select. As I had about 60 shots, I thought the slideshow was the better way to show them rather than filling the page with all the pictures (plus I am finding it very painful when you can only add one photo at a time to the article, at least as far as I know).

      It was a very fresh morning and as we had a slight dusting of snow during the night everything was bright and crisp.

Leave a Reply

