Cruising the Panama Canal – Time to go home….

I woke up early today hoping to catch a glimpse as we pulled into Miami but alas we were already docked. Our journey was pretty much officially over now. Our bags had been picked up the night before and all we had was our carry on bags.  We met up with Craig and Vicki and then made our way to the Oceanview Café for one last taste of Eggs Benedict. We were scheduled to be one of the last group of people to disembark the ship. We were to be in the Celebrity Theatre by 8:55 to wait for further instruction to leave.

After Breakfast,  I took another walk around the outside decks. I was feeling very satisfied with the vacation we had just experienced. I took a few last shots of Infinity.

Oceanview Café:

The weather was warm and sunny on this day, the skyline of Miami looked as great as it ever has (although I do prefer the view on embarkation rather than debarkation).

We then proceeded to the theatre and waited to disembark the ship. By 10 am, we were off the ship, through customs and in a cab heading for the airport. Our flight was not until 4 pm so we had some time to well, do nothing,  for a bit. The flight home was uneventful (thank god!) and now I wait for my next adventure.

As I reflect on the last fourteen days and all the fun we had along the way, the journey was something to behold. We met some great people along the way.  The Infinity is a gorgeous and well looked after ship. I have little to complain about. The staff on board took very good care of us and all the other passengers from what I could see. Our room steward Peter, was always available and always went out of his way to say hello (even if he was in another room and heard you in the hall).

The Itinerary of this cruise was well placed with the ports evenly spaced between sea days. This made for some great relaxation and allowed you to really enjoy the ship. The ports were beautiful and offered us many activities and of course memories.

It seemed like only yesterday we were embarking in Los Angeles:

 Then visiting “Lands End” in Cabo San Lucas:

or sailing into beautiful Acapulco:

We then moved into Huatulco, Mexico:

 and Puntarenas, Costa Rica:

The Main Event –  who could forget the Canal:

 and my favourite port on this trip Cartagena, Columbia:

This has been the trip that I could never have imagined. We sailed from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic Ocean, with had many stops in between. Our first cruise on Celebrity, probably won’t be our last.  The Infinity had everything and more to offer. She did us very well.  So as the sun sets on my review, I trust you have enjoyed joining us on our journey between two oceans. I want to thank those who have left comments and showed that you truly were interested in what I had to say about this trip. For those that did not,  I also thank you for joining me and following along on this adventure. I hope you felt a part of this journey.

I will leave you with the following some lyrics from a great song. I think this sums up the entire journey:

Lovely Cruise:

Drink it up, This ones for you,  It’s been a lovely cruise
I’m sorry it’s ended.  It’s sad but it’s true,  Honey, it’s been a lovely cruise
These moments were left with,  May you always remember, These moments are shared by few
There’s wind in our hair,  And there’s water in our shoes , Honey, it’s been a lovely cruise
These moments we’re left with,  May you always remember,  These moments are shared by few
And those harbor lights , Aw they’re coming into view , We bid our farewell much too soon,
So drink it up This one’s for you,  Honey, it’s been a lovely cruise
Yea baby, it’s been a lovely cruiseOh darlin’ it’s been a lovely cruise

Thanks for cruising along with me on this adventure, till next time…. Steve

One thought on “Cruising the Panama Canal – Time to go home….

Leave a Reply

