God, The Occupy Movement and a Conservative Agenda

When I arrived home tonight, I immediately (ok it wasn’t immediately, I did do a few other things first) logged into my laptop and headed for WordPress to get caught up on some of the blogs I follow. One in particular, took my thoughts to the occupy movement and well God.

Now I do not profess to be a religious man by any means. I seldom attend church, if at all,  and to a certain degree have become disillusioned with religion in general. Do I have a faith or belief in God? I suppose the real answer to that is between my maker and myself. My parents provided a strong christian home for my myself and my brother and sister. My family attended church 2-3 times a week. They taught and instilled in us the understanding of right from wrong and to believe in a greater power. I was taught to understand and know what the bible teaches. Do I think you need to attend church every week to be a good christian? No, I don’t. In fact, what I truly believe is that we all need to take a moment each day and be thankful for our blessings and take time to make sure others are looked after in whatever way we can help. This brings me back to the point I was looking at for this blog today.  I wonder how God would view our current society and the inequities that exist? I wonder whether God would approve of the occupy movement? It’s an interesting ideological question for sure. Clearly, if you watch Fox News, he or she doesn’t. Fortunately, I do not watch Fox News.

The political right in both Canada and the United States are quick to call on God and what they believe he wants for the world. It’s interesting when you think that many of the policies of today’s governments, came as a result of the lobbying of the conservative right and by many conservative governments. There is no question, that these policies have led to clear inequalities in who controls wealth today. Quite the opposite I think of what the bible would want them to believe. What’s even more interesting, is how these conservatives tend to rely on their religious views as the guide for their purpose.

If you believe the words in the bible, I think you will see a clear sign of how Christ viewed the rich. In fact, he references that it would be easier for a Camel to go through the eye of a needle, then for a rich man to get into heaven. So who’s side of this movement would God be on? If we take the bible at its word, I think that answer would be clear…. It appears the conservative right… is wrong on this one!

I decided to do a search on You Tube on “God and the Occupy movement.” I found this interesting video take on the idea. It’s a video with just the right mix of facts and humour.

I will leave you with this today…..

Leave a Reply

